Who we are

CARE is an academic research centre based in Duke-NUS Medical School. It aims to harness the potentials of population ageing both in Singapore and the region through its interdisciplinary expertise and collaborations across medical, social, psychological, economics and environmental perspectives. Recognising the need for a consolidated and long term approach towards longevity, CARE spearheads educational programmes to build competencies on ageing amongst researchers, policy and programme professionals. CARE also actively engages with government and industry partners to meet the needs of population ageing.


To achieve health, social inclusion and a high quality of life for our ageing population


  • Provide an environment that enables interdisciplinary research and education on ageing
  • Implement and evaluate best practices to improve health and function of older adults
  • Inform policy and practice agenda on ageing

Our objectives

Advisory Board members

Dr Mary Ann Tsao (Chair)

Chairman and Founding Director, Tsao Foundation

Professor Brenda Yeoh

Director, Humanities & Social Science Research, Office of Deputy President (Research & Technology)

Ms Ang Bee Lian

Director of Social Welfare, Ministry of Social and Family Development, Singapore

Professor Pang Weng Sun

Deputy Group Chief Executive Officer (Population Health), National Healthcare Group

Professor Aline Wong

Advisor to SR Nathan School of Human Development, Singapore University of Social Sciences

Ms Melissa Khoo

Group Director (Ageing Planning Office), Ministry of Health

Mr Richard Sim

Professor Thomas Coffman (Ex-Officio Member)

Dean, Duke-NUS Medical School

Scientific Advisory Committee members

Professor Harvey Jay Cohen (Chair)

Division Chief of Geriatrics & Director of the Center for the Study of Aging and Human Development, Duke University, USA

Professor Hiroko Akiyama

Founding Director, Institute of Gerontology, University of Tokyo, Japan

Professor Yasuhiko Saito

Research Adviser, University Research Center, Nihon University, Japan

Professor Tan Eng King

Research Director, National Neuroscience Institute, Singapore
Co-Director, USA National Parkinson Foundation International Center of Excellence

Dr Christopher Lien

Senior Consultant Geriatrician, Geriatric Department, Changi General Hospital

Professor Ecosse Lamoureux

Deputy Head, Academic Medicine Research Institute, Duke-NUS, Singapore

Professor David Bruce Matchar

Program Director, Health Services & Systems Research, Duke-NUS, Singapore

Professor Michael Chee

Director, Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory, Duke-NUS, Singapore

Professor Truls Ostbye

Director, Department of Community & Family Medicine, Duke University

Meet the team

Rahul Malhotra

Head of Research

Angelique Chan

Associate Professor / Executive Director

Normala Manap

Senior Associate Director

Grand Cheng

Visiting Assistant Professor

Nuradlina Maulod

Research Fellow

June Lee May Ling

Research Associate

Abhijit Visaria

Research Fellow

Peter Tay

Research Fellow

Md Ismail Tareque

Research Fellow

Ted Kheng Siang Ng

Research Fellow

Goh Shi Min Veronica

Research Associate

Sumithra Suppiah

Research Associate

Lu Si Yinn

Research Assistant

Tan Yi Wen

Research Assistant

Ting Yi Yuan

Research Assistant

Daphne Lee

Administrative Assistant

Lai Ying Ying

Senior Executive

Tan Kok Yang


CARE Associates

David B. Matchar


Truls Ostbye


Saito Yasuhiko


John P. Ansah


Shannon Ang

Doctoral Candidate