ANNEX A

HONORARY CITIZEN AWARD

The title of Honorary Citizen is a national award conferred by the Singapore Government since 2003 to recognise and acknowledge the contributions of foreigners who have rendered extensive and valuable services to Singapore and its people, or who have made a significant impact in the areas of business, science and technology, information communications, education, health, arts and culture, sports, tourism and community services or security.

The Honorary Citizen Award is the highest form of national recognition for a non-Singaporean and ranks ahead of existing awards – the Public Service Star (Distinguished Friends of Singapore) Award and the Public Service Medal (Friends of Singapore) Award.

The title of Honorary Citizen is conferred for life.

Past Honorary Citizen Award Recipients

2003	Dr Sydney Brenner (United Kingdom) Chairman, Biomedical Research Council, A*STAR (2003 – 2007) Scientific Advisor to Chairman A*STAR (2007 – 2010) Senior Fellow, A*STAR (2010 – 2019)
	Dr Pasquale Pistorio (Italy) President & Chief Executive, STMicroelectronics (1987 – 2005)
2004	Sir Richard Brook Sykes (United Kingdom) Chairman, GlaxoSmith Kline PLC (2000-2002)
	Mr. Lodewijk Christiaan Van Wachem (The Netherlands) Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Royal Dutch Petroleum Company (Shell) (1992-2002)
2005	Dr Tsutomu Kanai (Japan) Chairman of the Board & Director of Hitachi Ltd (1999 – 2011)
	Professor Robert A Brown (United States of America) Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) (1998-2005)
2007	Mr Lee R. Raymond (United States of America) Chairman and CEO, ExxonMobil (1999-2006)
	Dr Heinrich von Peirer (Germany) Chairman, Supervisory Board of Siemens AG (2005 – 2007)

EMBARGOED UNTIL 26 APRIL 2019, 10.30AM

2008 Mr Ratan Tata (India) Chairman, Tata Group (1991 – 2012)

> **Tan Sri Frank Tsao Wen-King** (Malaysia) Senior Chairman, IMC Group (2011 – Present) Chairman, Suntec City Development (2011 – Present)

- **2010 Mr Jeroen van der Veer** (The Netherlands) Chief Executive, Royal Dutch Shell (2004 – 2009) Vice-Chairman, Supervisory Board of ING (2009 – 2011)
- 2011 Professor Edward Holmes (United States of America) Deputy Chairman, Translational and Clinical Science Group, Biomedical Research Council, A*STAR (2006 – 2014) Executive Chairman of the National Medical Research Council, MOH (2006 – 2011)
- 2012 Lord Ronald Oxburgh (United Kingdom) Co-chairman of A*STAR Science & Technology Advisory Committee (2011 – 2013) Deputy Chairman, Board of the A*STAR Science and Engineering Research Council (SERC) (2002 – 2013)
- 2014 Mr Hiromasa Yonekura (Japan) Chairman, Sumitomo Chemical (2009 – 2014) Member, International Advisory Council, A*STAR (2009 – 2017)
- **2015 Professor Sir George Radda** (United Kingdom) Chairman, Biomedical Research Council, A*STAR (2009 – 2017)

Dr Joan Bray Rose (United States of America) Homer Knowlin Chair, Water Research, Michigan State University (2003 – Present) Chairperson, External Audit Panel, PUB (2002 – Present)

2016 Dr Tadataka Yamada (United States of America) Executive Vice President of Takeda Pharmaceuticals (2011 – Present) Member, A*STAR Investigatorship Selection Panel (2013 – 2016)

EMBARGOED UNTIL 26 APRIL 2019, 10.30AM

2017 Prof Ulrich Werner Suter (Switzerland)

Advisor, National Research Foundation (2012 – Present) Chairman, NRF Competitive Research Programme International Evaluation Panel (2011 – Present) Member, NRF Scientific Advisory Board (2011 – Present)

Sir Andrew Philip Witty (United Kingdom) VP and GM of Marketing for Glaxo Wellcome Inc. (1999 – 2003) Member, EDB's International Advisory Council