Thesis Mentors

The IBM degree is a research-intensive programme which culminates with the defense of a dissertation and the publication of the student’s findings. Research is done under the direction of an approved faculty mentor, who serves as chair of the student’s dissertation committee and provides financial support for research activities.

Students will undergo the mentor selection process toward the end of their first semester of the programme.

Cancer & Stem Cell Biology

Name Research Topic Lab Email Contact
Virshup, David M
Professor

Cancer Biology, Signal Transduction, protein phosphorylation, Wnt signaling

Duke-NUS

david.virshup@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 6954
Casey, Patrick J
Professor

G protein signal transduction impacting cancer cell proliferation and metastasis

Duke-NUS

patrick.casey@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7251
Lee, Caroline
Associate Professor

Functional Genomics of Hepatocellular Carcinoma, Pharmaco‐genetics/genomics, Population Genetics, Polymorphisms

NCC

caroline.lee@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 3251
Sabapathy, Kanaga
Professor

Pathways regulating carcinogenesis and chemo-sensitivity (c-Jun/JNK and p53/p73), mouse models for cancer and cancer therapeutic agents

NCC

sabapathy@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6436 8349
Itahana, Koji
Assistant Professor

ARF‐Mdm2‐p53 tumor suppressor pathway, apoptosis, cancer metabolism, targeting mitochondria for cancer therapy

Duke-NUS

koji.itahana@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 2554
Tan, Patrick
Professor

Stomach cancer, cancer genomics, translational medicine

Duke-NUS/GIS/NCC

gmstanp@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 1783
Lee, Sang Hyun
Assistant Professor

Cancer Biology, Mitotic checkpoint, chromosomal instability, aneuploidy, anti-mitotic therapy

Duke-NUS

sanghyun.lee@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 1406
Li, Shang
Assistant Professor

Telomerase regulation, cancer and aging

Duke-NUS

shang.li@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 1259
Ong, Sin Tiong
Associate Professor

Therapeutic targeting of cancer stem cells, mechanisms of drug resistance, haematologic malignancies

Duke-NUS

sintiong.ong@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7763
Teh, Bin Tean
Professor

Laboratory of Cancer Therapeutics

Duke-NUS

teh.bin.tean@singhealth.com.sg

+65 6601 1324
Rozen, Steve
Professor

Human genetics (especially behavioral) and cancer genomics and the genetics of cancer progression; bioinformatics

Duke-NUS

steve.rozen@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 4945; +65 6516 5920
Wang-Casey, Mei
Assistant Professor

Cancer Biology, experimental cancer therapeutics, protein prenylation and its impact on signaling, autophagy and cell death pathways

Duke-NUS

mei.wang@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 8608
Tucker-Kellogg, Lisa
Assistant Professor

The Cell Modeling Lab

Duke-NUS

lisa.tucker-kellogg@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7654
Fu, Nai Yang
Assistant Professor

Epithelial stem cells, molecular pathways, cancer genetics, liver cancer and mouse models of cancer.

Duke-NUS

naiyang.fu@duke-nus.edu.sg  

+65 6516 2503

Cardiovascular & Metabolic Disorders

Name Research Topic Lab Email Contact
Silver, David L
Professor

Diabetes, lipid metabolism, regulation of energy homeostasis, membrane proteins

Duke-NUS

david.silver@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 2172
Sugii, Shigeki
Assistant Professor

Adipose stem and iPS cells; fat metabolism; diabetes; nuclear receptors; regenerative therapeutics

A*Star

shigekisugii@gmail.comshigeki_sugii@sbic.a-star.edu.sg

+65 6478 8763
Yen, Paul M
Professor

Thyroid function; nuclear hormone receptor; hepatic steatosis; PI3-kinase and cancer

Duke-NUS

paul.yen@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7332
Sun, Lei
Assistant Professor

Noncoding RNA's in Brown Fat

Duke-NUS

sun.lei@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 3021
Kovalik, Jean-Paul
Assistant Professor

Mitochondrial fuel flux in fat cells

Duke-NUS

jean-paul.kovalik@duke-NUS.edu.sg

+65 6601 3144
Cook, Stuart
Professor

Genetic cardiomyopathy, heart failure, stroke, myocardial insulin resistance, genetic regulation of cardiac arrhythmias.

Duke-NUS

stuart.cook@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 2584
Singh, Manvendra
Assistant Professor

Cardiovascular Development, Congenital Cardiac Diseases, Ischemic Heart Disease, Cardiac Metabolism in Heart Failure.

Duke-NUS

manvendra.singh@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 3098
Petretto, Enrico
Associate Professor

Systems-genetics and network biology, genetical genomics and bioinformatics, identification of functional gene targets in cardio-metabolic, fibrotic, inflammatory and neuropsychiatric diseases.

Duke-NUS

enrico.petretto@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 5114
Hausenloy, Derek
Professor

Acute myocardial ischemia/reperfusion injury, Cardioprotection (basic science and clinical), Cardiac imaging, Heart failure, Intracellular signalling, Mitochondrial function.

derek.hausenloy@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 5121

Emerging Infectious Diseases

Name Research Topic Lab Email Contact
Krishnan, Manoj
Assistant Professor

Cell biology of viral infection; antiviral innate immune mechanisms

Duke-NUS

manoj.krishnan@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 65162666
Lok, Shee Mei
Assistant Professor

Structural changes of dengue virus during infection.

Duke-NUS

sheemei.lok@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 5840
Ooi, Eng Eong
Associate Professor

Pathogenesis of dengue; the interactions of dengue immune complexes with monocytes

Duke-NUS

engeong.ooi@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7256
Smith, Gavin JD
Associate Professor

Ecology, evolution, population dynamics, molecular epidemiology, interspecies transmission of emerging infectious diseases

Duke-NUS

gavin.smith@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 1109
Vasudevan, Subhash
Associate Professor

Viral therapeutics, drug discovery, pathogenesis mechanism studies for dengue and other vector-borne viruses.

Duke-NUS

subhash.vasudevan@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 6718
Wang, Linfa
Professor

Emerging zoonoti viruses and development of novel platforms for investigation of infectious diseases of unknown aetiology

Duke-NUS

linfa.wang@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7256
St. John, Ashley L.
Assistant Professor

host-pathogen interactions; cellular trafficking and communication within lymph nodes; mast cells; viral immunology; vaccination

Duke-NUS

Ashley.st.john@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 8874
Bertoletti, Antonio
Professor

Immune pathogenesis of HBV infection,  antiviral immune therapy, Virus-specific T cells

Duke-NUS

antonio@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 660 13574

Health Services and Systems Research

Name Research Topic Lab Email Contact
Matchar, David Bruce
Professor

Please see: http://www.duke-nus.edu.sg/web/research/faculty/matchar-david-bruce

Duke-NUS

david.matchar@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 2584
Finkelstein, Eric A
Associate Professor

Economic Incentives, Behavioral Economics, Obesity, Discrete Choice Analysis, Economic Evaluation, Burden of Illness analysis, Cost Effectiveness Analysis

Duke-NUS

eric.finkelstein@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 2338
Bilger, Marcel
Assistant Professor

Health financing and equity, Obesity, Health economics and econometrics, Behavioral economics

Duke-NUS

marcel.bilger@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 2330
Chan, Angelique W M
Associate Professor

Social demography, aging, disability, family support, psychological well-being of older adults.

Duke-NUS

angelique.chan@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 5685
Jafar, Tazeen H
Professor

Policy-relevant implementation research on chronic non-communicable disease, and epidemiological studies likely to influence clinical practice.

Duke-NUS

tazeen.jafar@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 2582
Malhotra, Rahul
Assistant Professor

Please visit: https://www.duke-nus.edu.sg/content/malhotra-rahul

Duke-NUS

rahul.malhotra@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 6721
Ostbye, Truls
Professor

Please see: http://www.duke-nus.edu.sg/web/research/faculty/ostbye-truls

Duke-NUS

truls.ostbye@duke.edu

+1 919 660 0331

Neuroscience and Behavioural Diseases

Name Research Topic Lab Email Contact
Chee, Michael
Professor

Mechanisms underlying attention failure in sleep deprived persons; Decision making following sleep deprivation; Cognitive neuroscience of healthy aging

Duke-NUS

michael.chee@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 4916
Claridge-Chang, Adam
Assistant Professor

Models of cognitive and emotional dysfunction in Drosophila melanogaster

A-STAR

adamcc@gmail.com

+65 65869540
Gooley, Joshua J
Assistant Professor

Chronobiology, human circadian rhythms, sleep deprivation

Duke-NUS

joshua.gooley@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7430
Hsieh, Po-Jang Brown
Assistant Professor

Human cognition, attention, visual awareness, object perception and recognition, decision making, human brain mapping with fMRI and diffusion imaging

Duke-NUS

pojang.hsieh@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 2088
Je, H Shawn
Assistant Professor

Developing circuit-based mouse models of neuropsychiatric diseases, including schizophrenia, autism, and depression. Understanding cell and molecular mechanisms underlying synaptic plasticity.

Duke-NUS

shawn.je@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6601 1260
Lee, Tih-Shih
Associate Professor

Brain-computer interface, attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder.

DUKE-NUS

tihshih.lee@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7461
Lim, Kah Leong
Associate Professor

Molecular Mechanisms underlying neurodegeneration in Parkinson's disease

NRP

kahleong.lim@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 5413
Tan, Eng King
Associate Professor

Genetic epidemiology, pathophysiologic studies of diseased genes and experimental therapeutics in neurodegenerative diseases

Duke-NUS

gnrtek@sgh.com.sg

65 6326 5003
Van Dongen, Antonius
Associate Professor

Epigenetics and systems biology of learning and memory

Duke-NUS

antonius.vandongen@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7075
Wang, Hongyan
Associate Professor

Neural stem cell self-renewal, asymmetric cell division, neuronal degeneration

Duke-NUS

hongyan.wang@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 6516 7740
Zhou, Juan Helen
Assistant Professor

Multimodal neuroimaging in neuropsychiatric disorders, development and aging, human brain functional and structural connectivity with fMRI/EEG/DTI, imaging biomarker development

Duke-NUS

helen.zhou@duke-nus.edu.sg

+65 66012392