Mimi Choong 2020

Dr Mimi Choong

Chief Executive Officer
Health Sciences Authority

Dr Choong May Ling, Mimi was appointed as Chief Executive Officer on 1 July 2014.  She oversees HSA’s wide-ranging public health responsibilities, comprising health products regulation, the national blood service, and the national analytical and forensic sciences and forensic medicine services.

Dr Choong began her civil service career as a doctor in the Ministry of Health, and has worked in Singapore General Hospital, Kandang Kerbau Hospital, and Ministry of Health Headquarters.  She has also served in various capacities in many ministries, including the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Health, the former Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, and the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts.  She was Deputy Secretary (Security) in the Ministry of Home Affairs from December 2003 to April 2010, and Deputy Secretary (Services) in the Ministry of Education from May 2010 to May 2014 before joining HSA as CEO-designate on 1 June 2014.

Dr Choong has served as a Board Member on the Singapore Management University Board of Trustees, the Charity Council, the Building and Construction Authority Board, the Cisco Board, the National Environment Agency Board, and the Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee Board. She was Deputy Chairman of the Singapore Corporation of Rehabilitative Enterprises from January 2004 to April 2010. 

Dr Choong was awarded a Local Merit Scholarship to study medicine by the Public Service Division of the Singapore Government in 1981 and graduated from the National University of Singapore in 1986.  She attended the Program for Management Development in Harvard Business School in 1998, and the Advanced Management Program in the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in 2008.  Dr Choong has received 2 National Day Awards from the President of Singapore: the Public Administration Medal (Silver) [PPA(P)] in 2004 and the Public Administration Medal (Gold) [PPA(E)] in 2010.